This is a music appreciation blog featuring a variety of Kul Pop music. Any MP3s and images on this site are for sampling and introductory purposes only. If you like what you hear please support the artist buy buying their music. If you represent an artist featured on this site and would like a file removed, email me. Or if you have any tracks or cds you want to get to me for possible addition to my blog please email me.

Saturday, August 30, 2008


All I can say is head over to Ohh Crapp and download the song "Walking On A Dream" by Australian band Empire Of The Sun, you won't be disappointed (and the Sam La More remix is pretty good too). Sounds like an album is due out through EMI, I hope it gets released.

Ben Lee is busy completing work on his next regular album. He recently released the soundtrack he did for the Australian film called "The Square". Click here to see Ben and Jessica Chapnik performing the song 'Sand" from the soundtrack on Aussie TV.

I'm now booked for a week long visit to London in a couple of weeks. Besides visiting with my cousin and his family, plans include Howard Jones 25th Anniversary concert, and I also hope to see Nik Kershaw (for the first time in concert) with his band performing at the Days For Heroes charity concert in support of the British Troops. Should get a couple of meals in at Wagamama's, check out the cd stores and see some sights also. If you have any recommendations of things to do in London please leave a comment.

Labels: , ,

Friday, August 22, 2008


Dido is releasing her new album "Safe Trip Home" on November 3rd (the 4th in North America), and you can download a new ballad titled 'Look No Further" from the album by clicking here (until September 7th). I really liked Dido's first cd "No Angel", I hope she can recapture that success with the new album. A single, "Don't Believe in Love" will also be released ahead of the album. Some info about the new album: Recorded in Los Angeles and London, Safe Trip Home is co-produced by: Jon Brion (Fiona Apple, Kayne West, Rufus Wainwright, The Eels) Ark, the new production company of Rollo Armstrong (Faithless) and Dido. The record also features a song co-written with Brian Eno.

Imogen Heap has decided to not rush finishing up the recording of her new cd and has revealed in her latest vblog from the English countryside and her home that she now hopes to deliver the final product to be mastered on December 8th the day before her birthday (the same thing she did for "Speak For Yourself"). She says she may not even stick to that date, so I'm guessing that means we won't see the album being released until early 2009 now.

You can see Pete Byrne from Naked Eyes perform an acoustic version of their hit "Promises Promises" on a Salt Lake City TV station morning show here (you would think the host could get his name right).

And get well wishes to Annie Lennox who is back at home in the U.K. recuperating from spinal surgery after she was injured last week in Mexico while there for the AIDS conference. The 'best of' album scheduled for Sept. 16th has been pushed back to early next year to allow her to recover and promote the release.

Labels: , , ,

Friday, August 15, 2008


I'm enjoying the new cd by Irish band "The Script" that was released last week. I wasn't a fan of the first single "We Cry" (video), but the new single "The Man Who Can't Be Moved" is better and the rest of the album is strong. I really like the tracks "Talk You Down" MP3 and "Before The Worst" MP3 (up for one week). Check out their MySpace site, and buy the cd here.


Tuesday, August 12, 2008


U.K. band Captain have released the second single from their forthcoming album 'Distraction' titled 'Echoes Of Fashion'. It is up for listening on their MySpace and you can download the MP3 here .

It looks like 'Distraction' is now set for release on September 15th through EMI (order it here ). I've heard 6 tracks from the album and if you liked their debut cd you're sure to like this release also.


Tuesday, August 05, 2008


The new 2 cd set "Songs For Tibet - The Art Of Peace" is now available for download on iTunes. I've just bought the Imogen Heap reworking of her song "Hide And Seek" titled "Hide & Seek 2" and it is a nice new version of the song. She talks about it in her most recent vblog. The album also contains a new Jonatha Brooke track from her forthcoming album "The Works" titled "Madonna On The Curb", this version is called the 'Peace Mix', not sure how it differs from the album version. The cd contains a variety of songs from some big names in the music industry, see the track listing below (I hope to buy the actual physical cd set once it is released). Congratulations to legendary producer Rupert Hine for putting this all together for such a good cause, check the foundation's website for more details.

Disc: 1
1. Hide & Seek 2 (Imogen Heap)
2. Send Your Love - Art of Peace Remix (Sting)
3. Versions of Violence - Recorded in dressing room in Cologne, Germany (Alanis Morissette)
4. Belief (John Mayer)
5. Better (Regina Spektor)
6. We Are All Made of Stars - 2008 (Moby)
7. Making Noise (Damien Rice & The Cheshire Project)
8. More Than This - Campfire Take (Vanessa Carlton)
9. Nothing Fades- Kosen Rufu Version (Duncan Sheik)
10. Where Are You Going - Live in Barcelona (Dave Matthews & Tim Reynolds)

Disc: 2
1. Song Of Sand - Great City Version (Suzanne Vega)
2. All The Good In This Life (Garbage)
3. Hope - Live for The Art of Peace (Rush)
4. Madonna On The Curb - Peace Mix (Jonatha Brooke)
5. In These Times - the Concord Mix (Joan Armatrading)
6. All My Mistakes - Featuring Tarira (Teitur )
7. Alive In The World (Jackson Browne)
8. Better Way - Live in Six Fours les Plage (Ben Harper)
9. The Heart Of The Matter Underlying Mix (Rupert Hine)
10. To Heal - and Restore Broken Bodies (Underworld)

Labels: , , , ,

Monday, August 04, 2008


You can now download a new Keane song "Spiralling" from their forthcoming third album "Perfect Symmetry" (that is due out on October 13th) from their website (the download will be up for one week only).

I think the song is pretty good (it's growing on me), the vocals certainly aren't what I'd call "trademark" Keane, in fact if you didn't know it was Keane you may not recognize Tom's singing. I'll definitely buy the new Keane album as they are favourites of mine that I've seen in concert many times and I've also had the pleasure to meet a few times. You can also listen to the single at their MySpace page

Tom Chaplin was interviewed on the BBC this morning and had some interesting things to say about recording the new album and his preparations for touring. Someone has posted the interview (which includes the entire Spiralling track) on YouTube.


Saturday, August 02, 2008


Nick Lockwood who was one half of one of my favourite 80's bands "Vitamin Z" (remember "Burning Flame"?) has just released his band's Lazenby's new cd titled "The Loft Years" after playing Glastonbury recently. Check out the band's website and see what you think.

Great to see that Keane is finally releasing their third album, it's titled "Perfect Symmetry" and is due out on October 13th. A new song "Spiralling" is supposed to be available for download at their website this Monday.

Lorraine have a great new track called "Tell It All" available to hear on their website. I wish they would finally release their new album, how long do we have to wait?

Imogen Heap mentions in her latest vblog that she is attending Pop!Tech in Camden Maine this October.

I have been having fun playing one of my all time favourite arcade games "Pengo" on my old computer, wish I could get a version for my MAC.

Country band Sugarland have covered The Dream Academy's biggest hit "Life In A Northern Town", click here for the MP3 for download (live recording).