This is a music appreciation blog featuring a variety of Kul Pop music. Any MP3s and images on this site are for sampling and introductory purposes only. If you like what you hear please support the artist buy buying their music. If you represent an artist featured on this site and would like a file removed, email me. Or if you have any tracks or cds you want to get to me for possible addition to my blog please email me.

Saturday, July 19, 2008


Darren Hayes is about to release his new live concert DVD 'The Time Machine Tour" next week, and Amazon has it right now with a pre-order price of $10.99 so if you were thinking of purchasing the DVD order now while that price is still valid. It sounds like it was an amazing concert so I look forward to checking it out (since he didn't bring this show to North America). He is selling an expensive limited edition version of the DVD at his website if you feel like spending a lot more of your hard earned cash. I reviewed his Toronto gig back in June of 2007 here.

Fave Jonatha Brooke is set to release her new cd "The Works" on August 26th, 2008 and you can pre-order it at her website now. This is Jonatha's new album using Woody Guthrie's unpublished lyrics from his archives.
Jonatha also has some new concert dates coming up this October, November & December, some are a double bill with Glen Phillips formerly of Toad The Wet Sprocket fame who does a duet with her on the new album.

Jonatha has also been working on writing new songs with Nolwenn Leroy, the French winner of "Star Academie" with Rupert Hine producing (who's Tamboo website seems to be no longer), looking forward to hearing the results of those collaborations.

Track listing for "The Works":
1. My Sweet and Bitter Bowl
2. You'd Oughta Be Satisfied Now
3. All You Gotta Do Is Touch Me (with Keb Mo')
4. My Flowers Grow Green
5. Madonna On The Curb
6. There's More True Lovers Than One (with Eric Bazilian)
7. Sweetest Angel (with Glen Phillips)
8. My Battle
9. Little Bird (lyric by Jonatha Brooke)
10. Taste of Danger (lyric by Jonatha Brooke)
11. New Star (with Derek Trucks)
12. King of My Heart

Imogen Heap has a new video blog up on You Tube (#26), she mentions the song titles she's already planning to put on her follow up to "Speak For Yourself". She also plays a snippet of the song "First Train Home" and talks about changing it because as many people pointed out to her the chorus was very like the Donna Lewis song "I Love You Always Forever". If her webmaster could only get around to changing the audio player from saying "forthcoming album" when it plays tracks from SFY, the album has been out for over three years now.

One half of Tears For Fears, Curt Smith has recently released his latest solo offering titled "Halfway Pleased", ordering information at his website.

Rumour is that Green Gartside is currently working on a follow up to his Scritti Politti cd "White Bread Black Beer", no word if this involves former bandmates David Gamson and Fred Maher

Canadian 80's new wave rocker's Blue Peter are scheduled to play at The Blue Olive in Saint John New Brunswick at the "Pop Goes The City" festival on August 23 or 24, check their website for confirmation of the dates.

The new Antigone single "More Man Than Man" (produced by Justin Shave who produced Darren Hayes last cd) is a decent pop/dance song, not sure if it is worthy of all the blog hype it has been getting but enjoyable none the less.

Nick over at #1 Hits From Another Planet has a post with an interesting electro-pop song called "By The Way" by a Swedish band called "Kitty & The K" definitely worth downloading.

Labels: , , , ,


Blogger Paul said...

i'm with you on Antigone. It's a darn good single but hardly the second coming! Still it grows on me each time i listen so who knows?! Oh and i think she is married to Justin Shave!!

4:37 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home